Dorsher's World

Impressions of Mojo

Tom Petty’s Mojo album sounds like a collection of songs he should have released under the Mudcrutch name, as it has that swamp style blues feel. The thing I notices missing from this, as a TP&heartbreakers album is that the songs don’t tell any stories. I think that’s the signature of his songwriting style, at least for me. Often the first or third person narrative: American girl, Mary janes last dance, refugee, you wreck me, you don’t know how it feels, runnin down a dream, swingin, room at the top. Mojo strikes me as more of a jam album. I need to give it another listen for sure – but these are my initial impressions.

This entry was published on July 15, 2010 at 9:21 am and is filed under Album Review. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

